There can be only one (?)

SO….. Movie-blog huh? Sounds pretty good right of the bat, but what will make this one better than any other of the MILLIONS of movie-blogs out there? Fuck if I know, that’s for you to judge! I’m just here to display my thoughts, oppinions and ideas to the world, in small hopes that someone out there actually likes what I have to say.

But enough of that… let’s get down to business!!!

A frind of mine and I have recently been talking a lot about the upcoming Highlander-reboot and what this will entail for the franchise… Good or bad, cast-ideas, etc. So, in light of these recent discussions, I think it’s only fair to myself that I start off with just that… Highlander!!

The latest news/rumours I’ve heard, is that Ryan Reynolds is in talks of stepping in to Christopher Lambert’s  shoes, re-inventing the role as Connor Macleod (picture, flashback-scene). I have to say, that it’s a pretty big pair of shoes to fill. As long as I can remember, I have LOVED the Highlander-franchise and for the life of me, I could never in my mind see Anyone else but Lambert to portrail the amazing awesomeness that IS Connor Macleod. The accent, the smile and most of all… the way he delivers his more comedial lines (“..cruisin’ for a piece of ass?”).

BUT… and it’s a pretty big but! After giving it A LOT of thought, considering every aspect of the actor (Reynolds), watching some of his earlier work (X-men Origins, Safe House, Chaos Theory, Amityville and a few more), closely watching his posture, the way he delivers his lines, reactions etc, the only conclusion I can find, is that he can really do it! But that’s not all… I actually think, that as of this precise moment, he’s the only that can do it! So therefore I tip my hat to the ones in charge, if they decide to actually put him to the test, and hope that mr.Reynolds doesn’t prove me wrong!

And then there’s all the other fantastic characters the franchise have given us over the years, but since the Highlander-mythology takes us on a rollercoaster-ride made from hell, with the plots and the twists and the series and what not (ough, I’m getting a headache just thinking about it), I’m staying within the realm of the first film from 1986.

So I thought I would give you some casting-ideas for the two second-most important characters of the film.. The Kurgan (originally played by Clancy Brown) and everyones favourite mentor (next to mr Miyagi ofcourse), Juan-Sanches Villalobos Ramirez (originally played by Sean Connery).

For The Kurgan, the first thing/person that comes to mind is Vin Diesel. He has the built of a brute and the voice of something spawned from a brute and the original Kurgan (Brown). But that’s not really my first choice. If I had the duty of choosing the actor to portrail The Kurgan, I actually think I have to go with Derek Mears, best known for taking Jason Voorhees to the 21th century audiences in a fantastic and, for lack of a better word AWESOME way. He has it all… The size, the brute looks, the voice and the skill to make Clancy Brown proud!

For the rolse as the mentor Juan Sanches Villalobos Ramirez, I actually had a few ideas of what/who could work. The first person I thought of was John Malkovich. He has the seasoned face, the talent to portrail anything but he lacks the talent to belieavably ensure the trust Ramirez needs from the Highlander. Therefore, my first choice for Ramirez is none other then the ferret-loving, bewinged, vampire-slaying, masochistic monk himself, Paul Bettany! Yes, I know he’s young but that’s the idea, take something from the original mythology everyone loves and twisting it in a way never suspected by the audience. With the right actor, this can be done right. And I think Bettany is the right actor for the job!

Well, that’s all for me this time. All I have to say at this point is this………

There can be only one (?)

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

