Michael Bay and the TF-franchise?! pt.1

It was a hot summer day back in 2005 when I first learned that it with certainty would be a live-action Transformers movie. The kid in me was overcome with joy and satisfaction when the news struck and the grown-up in me thaught to himself; Badass, can’t wait to see it. Then came the anticipations, and with the news that Peter Cullen himself would reprise his beloved role as Optimus Prime, the anticipations shot through the roof.

And then I learned that this masterpiece, that it in my head was destined to become, was being directed and executively produced by Michael Bay. In all honesty, at first I thaught that this could be one of the most devestating moves of all time for the movie-industry. I mean, the man did Armageddon and Pearl Harbor for crying out loud! There’s not a snowballs chance in hell that this would be as awesome as the cartoon. And what’ya know… it doesn’t even come close to the G1-series. Don’t get me wrong, I still love the movies, all three of’em. But the G1-series defines my entire childhood. I know more about the Transformers than I do about stuff that really matters in life. I had the toys, I had the cartoon, I even think I had a set of pajamas covered in Autobots and Red/White TF-logos.

So, now when you know what I think about the movies in general compared to the original, I thaught that I’d take you through some of the biggest disappointments (for me). But… I’ll also be showing you some things that I actually loved about’em. So it’s not all bad.

Let’s start of with the appearence. Since the differences between the G1-versions and the Bay-versions is pretty much the enormous on all of them, I have whittled through and picked the two “most” important characters, Optimus Prime and his evil counter-part Megatron.

OPTIMUS PRIME!
The red chassis with the square panes of glass on the chest, white midsection and the blue legs.. That is how we all came to know Optimus Prime in his robot-form. Not that colour-mashed, mangled up mess you see in the 2007-movie. And the biggest disappointment of all, was the fact that he now has a mouth. The only time he brakes out the “chin-guard” is when he’s about to get up close and personal. Huge design-flaw!

MEGATRON!
Do I even have to mention the enormous differences made to the character? Yeah sure, Megatron haven’t taken the form of any earthly vehicles yet, so ofcourse he doesn’t look as good as the other Cybertronians. But c’mon, he transforms into a frikkin’ space-jet. Uh-uh, not ok. And the fact that Frank Welker, who did the voice for Megatron in the series, does some voice-overs in the movies but NOT Megatron… it can not get more wrong that that!!

You’ll have to excuse me, but I’m actually sitting here getting angry when I think of the mistakes that so called movie-maker Michael Bay did, so I am going to cut this one short, cool my groove and come back tomorrow with new energy!

Until tomorrow; Freedom is the right of all sentient beings!

Peace out hombrés!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

