Friday the 13th, The (d)evolution of Jason Voorhees!

Many a nightmares in my younger years came from this franchise. My parents told me “No, you’re to little, you’ll get nightmares..” and so on, so every time I wanted to watch what was most commonly known as a Jason-movie, I had to do it “sneaky ninja-style” or use headphones so they couldn’t hear what I was watching (had a tv in my room). And what’ya know… say, 6-7 hours later I would wake up screaming from the nightmares! But am I sorry? No! If I had the choice to do it all over again, I wouldn’t change a thing! It’s just a fact, Jason Voorhees is the #2 slasher Badass EVER, beaten only by Freddy Kreuger from Nightmare on Elm Street.

Funny thing about Jason Voorhees is, that people always talk about him as if he always were a zombie, ghoul or something in the same manner, but they forget that it wasn’t until The Final Chapter when he got his head sliced apart by Corey Feldman, that he actually died. In the beginning he was just as alive as Ghostface or Leatherface or any other masked slasher out there.

And the fact that, even after Scream, some people still walk around thinking that he was the killer in the first one aswell, it  astounds me. WAKE THE F*CK UP PEOPLE!!!! The same thing about the remake  from -09. It’s not a remake of the first movie, it’s a remake of the SECOND movie. Why do you think he walks around with that bag on his head? Come to think of it, it’s kinda like an amalgamation of the second with the bag and the third where he finds the now notorious hockeymask, both of wich is featured in the remake. And the so called “New and improved” Jason, played by Derek Mears, is actually just as badass as the original, played by (most commonly referred to) Kane Hodder. Yeah, I know that he was portrayed by a lot of actors and that Hodder only did four of them, but in my book, Kane Hodder IS and will always be Jason!!

Richard Brooker, the first actor to play a grown-up Jason, reprised his role in the third movie aswell, establishing himself as somewhat of a legend in the fan cult-following. But thankfully, he did not do it a third time. Instead, he passed the torch to Ted White, wich I think was a pretty huge improvement. And then came C.J. Graham and turned it back with one of the lousiest performance ever made behind the mask. But then came the movie that would forever change the way we saw Jason. Part VII – The New Blood, featuring the meanest and baddest stuntman to ever walk the streets of Hollywood, Kane Hodder! BAM… A legend was born!!

Watching Hodder play Jason was like watching the Michaelangelo sculpt David. It was as if Hodder was born for one thing and one thing only.. to play Jason Voorhees. The two combined was a work of art, and personally, I’m a little bit sad that he wasn’t brought back for Freddy vs. Jason. Instead, they used Ken Kirzinger who, in almost everyone I’ve talked to about its oppinions, think was one of the worst Jason’s ever. Pretty funny fact though about Kirzinger, he was actually killed by Jason in Jason Takes Manhattan, so there’s always that.

And finally, we have arrived in the year 2009. A year that, for me, will always be praised for the remake of Friday the 13th, starring Jared Padalecki, Amanda Righetti and Derek Mears as Jason Voorhees! As far as the movie goes, it’s pretty straight forward about what it wants to be. It’s a scary slasher-movie, simple as that. But the twist and turns they made on Jason was awesome. Having watched his mother be beheaded and forced to live in the wild, he has become a survival-expert. Combined with the anger against he has towards pretty much everyone else, he sets traps, gathers loot and…. takes prisoners? That’s new. What’s that about? My first guess was that, hey, he’s a dude, he has needs. And I’m pretty sure that a mass-murderer like he is doesn’t have any problems with raping some young woman in a dungeon-like basement. Whatever the thoughts behind it were, I liked it. It sets the whole story, with the brother looking for his sister and so on. And Derek Mears does a fantastic job. He’s not as good as Jason as Hodder, but it’s pretty darn close. For the type of Jason that they wanted, he is perfect!

So there you have it, some of my thoughts on Jason Voorhees. But just like with Pathfinder, I have a lot to say about this subject aswell but I shortened it in order to “complete” it with a video-based review later on.

So until next time…. Peace out hombrés!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

One response to “Friday the 13th, The (d)evolution of Jason Voorhees!

Leave a Reply

