The Punisher pt.1

Frank Castle, a.k.a The Punisher, is one of the the best Anti-heroes in the world. He is rude, sarcastic, violent, angry and in some ways a deranged psychopath but what makes this character work for me, is the fact that he is fuelled by the loss of his wife and children (or in some medias, child). In his own personal war against injustice, he employs murder, kidnapping, torture and many other varieties of ways to inflict pain and suffering unto the ones he feels deserves it. But that’s ok, because the way I see it, he has right on his side. Any man in his right mind could flip and do the exact same thing if they were in his shoes. I know I would, but that’s because I’m a little bit crazy like that already.

Anyway, let’s talk a little bit about the movies. After all, this is a Movie-blog.

The Punisher have been portrayed a few times know, three to be exact. The first time it fell upon Dolph Lundgren to step in to the shoes of this badass. The movie came out in 1989 and was written by Boaz Yakin (Prince of Persia: The Sands Of Time ) and directed by Mark Goldblatt (Dead Heat). It starred Dolph Lundgren as Frank Castle and Louis Gosset Jr. as Jake Berkowitz. It is a pretty simple action-movie really, nothing special going on. A guy with a lot of big and loud guns  running around plastering bad guys all over the pavement and is pursued by a detective, who actually knows who he really is, but if you ask me, I think there’s something missing. It lacks that special ingredient that really makes it a Punisher-movie. Sure, he goes around punishing those he finds in need of punishment, but still, it’s not all there. Oh, now I’ve got it… the skull. I have seen the movie 5 times in the last 3 years and I can, for the life of me, not find the skull, wich I think is essential to the character. It’s like if Superman didn’t have his big S on his chest. But no matter what critics and/or fans have said over the years, I personally, think that Dolph himself did a great job and he was almost perfect for the part. The only thing wrong was that he was to pretty. He had that perfectly chiseled face wich made him look like an underwear-model or something. The Punisher is scarred, raw and dark, with a constant look of being disturbed just as he was about to fall asleep.

As you can see there is some differences in their appearances. But hey, it was the 80s. Back then, they didn’t listen to the fans in the same way that they do today, so the affection to details wasn’t as big at the time. They made what in their oppinion was the best they could and I congratulate them for it. I grew up watching Dolph Lundgren kick ass and this movie was a great piece to have in your collection. Sure, I only have it on tape but I actually have an old VCR so I can watch it anytime I want anyway.

That’s that, now on to other affiliated thoughts.

The reason I’m writing about The Punisher, is one of the main reasons I started this blog. To write about movies, ofcourse, but a lot of the movies I’ve written about or will write about is so strong in mind, that they’ve spawned a remake, or even a reboot of a remake. In this case, I’m talking about The Punisher. A beloved character should have its own huge movie, sometimes even a franchise, but they didn’t succeed with the -89 version of The Punisher, so ofcourse they did a remake. The 2004-version starred Thomas Jane as Frank Castle and John Travolta as the main villain Howard Saint. And then four years later came a new movie starring Ray Stevenson. Punisher: War Zone, a completely new take on the entire franchise that they had already established. But I’ll get to those in the next 2 following posts.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, put your babies to bed, make some popcorn, dim down the lights and put yourself in a comfortable position. In 2014, an all-new The Punisher will be released unto the world. It’s seems that Hollywood have gone ape-shit on this whole comic book-era that we’re in and all they want to do is spew out movie after movie after movie about our, or in some cases our childrens, all-time favourite heroes. There’s not much about the movie out there, no plot, no cast, no director, at least not what I can find. So I thought I should at least give you my twelve cents worth on who I think should play Frank Castle, a.k.a The Punisher.

As I said earlier on, he should be dark and gritty. If they make the movie about an aging Punisher, Mel Gibson is my first choice. He has the built, or can at least get it if he wants to and he has an astonishing talent for looking amazingly crazy. But, if they make it about an aging Punisher, I won’t be watching it in the theatres, that’s for sure. So instead, I have a treat for you, a wildcard if you will… are you with me? Here it is, my number one fantasy-cast choice for Frank Castle: Jeremy Renner!

He has the facial features that is essential to pull of a great Punisher, aswell as the talent to portray dark and gritty characters and the experience needed to wield a gun on screen. Colour his hair black, smack on a black shirt with the skull, give him a couple of Colt M1911A1s and he’s good to go!! Or am I wrong?

That’s all I have for you this time, but I’ll be sure to pop you one on the 2004-version tomorrow! But until then…

Peace out hombrés!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

