The superhero-era, peaked or still going strong?

The superheroes we all love and/or hate have been around for a long time, where the most common (or mainstream if you prefer) are the ones featured in DC and Marvel Comics, such as Superman, Batman, Spider-Man, The X-Men and so on. Many of them have had their chance on the big screen but for the last 12 years they have pretty much ruled the theatres.

With the release of the movie X-Men starring Hugh Jackman, sir Ian McKellen, Halle Berry and Anna Paquin, to name a few, the doors to a worldwide audience stood wide open for the studios in Hollywood. And did they take their chance to make a few bucks? Yes they did! But it didn’t always pan out the way they’d hoped and more often than not, the fans were appalled by the way the studio execs ripped apart what was supposed to be their heroes. But that didn’t stop them from trying, no sir, the superhero-movies just kept on coming and it seemed for a time that there was no end to it.

Personally, I’m a big fan of the concept and hope to see more of my childhood idols on the big screen and not just the same ones in new suits (Spiderman, Batman, Superman etc.) but characters like The Green Arrow, Aquaman or Hercules (the Marvel-version ofcourse) aswell. After all, they haven’t even tapped the surface of the overpowering ammount of superheroes out there. And with recent talks around the interweb about the era coming to an end and what not, I thought I had to say my piece about it, and at the same time give a few fantasy-casts for characters I hope to see in the future.

With the upcoming Superman re-boot, Man Of Steel, Iron Man 3 and Thor: The Dark World, all in 2013, the fate of the Superhero movie-era seems brighter than ever before and with the success of The Avengers, you can bet your last dime on it being a trilogy! So I don’t think we fans have to worry about it fading sometime in the near future!

So there you have it, my twelve cents worth on that subject. If you don’t agree with me, please, leave a comment and we’ll discuss it!

Time for some fantasy-casts then!


We can begin of with the afore mentioned characters, starting of with Green Arrow. Oliver Queen, succesful businessman and philanthropist turned vigilante. Set him against the Dark Archer and you have a movie that, if made right, would not fail. Green Arrow was pretty decently portrayed in the CW-series Smallville by Justin Hartley but it always had somewhat of a childish feel to it. I want a little darker and more brutal version of him. I’m thinking that with the right script and something that Tim Burtoon did for Batman combined with either Channing Tatum or Cam Gigandet would work just fine!


On to Aquaman. He was portrayed by Hartley in the extremely shortlived series turned TV-movie and by Alan Ritchson in Smallville, but at both points, you had that childish feel to it. The concept of Aquaman is steep and unrefined but I think it has a goldmine hidden somewhere so this is a movie I really want to see happen. Put Christopher Nolan at the helm and you have a winner. And if you put Garret Hedlund as a headliner, even the girls would watch it!

As for Hercules, there’s really not much to say.. someone dark, brutally big and preferably with a bad accent and it’s a go. But with the announcement that Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson will star in Brett Ratner’s Hercules, there little to no hope at all that they would even consider the Marvel-version of the greek god any time soon. Or will it?

Well now, I think it’s about high time for another cold one, don’t you agree? Great! Oh, and before I forget. The idea of making a weekly podcast came to me earlier today. Let me know if that would be anything you’d be interested in, and I’ll take it under serious consideration!

But until next time…. Peace out hombrés!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

