Remakes – Movies I want to see (again).


Remakes header

It’s not really a secret that Hollywood likes to take an existing film, slapping a few layers of paint on it, swap out the actors and a few details, and release it as a remake. It’s been done for ages and it doesn’t seem to be coming to a stop any time soon, so I thought I’d give you a list of movies I would like to see re-made.

Dudikoff American Ninja

I want to start with one of my favorite movies as a kid; American Ninja from 1985, (starring Michael Dudikoff and Steve James). The movie follows an American soldier who has been raised by a Japanese man, learning the art of Nin Jitsu and the events that occur when he takes on a group of mercenaries in the Phillipines. Some people would like to argue that this has already been remade in the form of Ninja (starring Scott Adkins) from 2009, but this is far from a remake of American Ninja. Sure, there’s no doubt about the fact that Ninja is the equivalent of American Ninja of the 21th century and when we look back at them both, in say… 15-20 years, they could easily be put as an original and a remake. Anywho, I want to see an actual remake of this particular film, with the title and with the basis of the original plot, because it was one of the main reasons I got in to martial arts as a kid and I will always keep it close to my heart, as one of the greatest Kick-Ass flicks of the 80’s.

The Running Man poster

Another movie from that same era I would Very much like to see remade, is Richard Bachman’s (Stephen King, for those out there who’ve missed it) The Running Man, starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. Again, some people are referring to Gamer (starring Gerard Butler) from 2009, as the remake of The Running Man and again, their arguments are invalid. This, however, is just a movie I want to see solely because of the shier awesomeness that is 80’s action and you can never go wrong with someone like Arnold at the helm. I’m thinking, maybe Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson could be interested? Or perhaps someone a little less…… big? Maybe Channing Tatum would be an idea. And maybe this time, Stephen King himself could write the script as well, not letting some hack ruin his novel like they did the last time. If they could get this done, I would definitely wait in line to see it!

An American Werewolf in London poster

They say good things come in threes, so here’s one more goody for ‘ya this evening’; An American Werewolf in London. The 1981 cult-classic still holds the title with the greatest transformation-sequence I have ever seen in a film. As a kid, this scene blew my mind when I saw it and it pretty much still do. And with the half-assed success with Joe Johnston’s The Wolfman from 2010 and the devolution of the Underworld-series, With the right writer and a great director, this remake could easily be one of the greatest horror-movies of the century. As long as they keep Creedence Clearwater Revival’s ‘Bad Moon Rising’ on the soundtrack, of course!

There you go, a little mid-night treat for you. Now, I’m actually going to watch the original An American Werewolf in London, whilst keeping my feet neatly tucked in underneath the covers!

Howl at ‘ya next time…. Peace!!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

