Movie creatures – Good, better and BAD!

Movie-goers have since forever been overwhelmed with monsters, beasts and creatures, some more familiar than others, like the Xenomorphs from the Alien-franchise, the Gremlins or the Wolfman and so on. Some of these creatures have been considered works of art, like the dinosaurs of Jurassic Park, while others have been proclaimed abominations by the critics of the world. I am writing to you today, about a few creatures that have stood out in ways others didn’t, claiming their place in my memory-bank, for good and bad.

The first one I want to mention, is the Troll-king from the movie Troll. It may be intended as a horror-film, but I just can’t stop laughing at it. From the first time it appeared, it had me hooked…. in a good way! This may be considered by some of you, as a bad thing, but I actually rank this one as one of the better creatures. (note; This is also the first time the world got to see Harry Potter in action.. fun trivia for you)

Troll

Then we have the Cellar Dweller-creature. This is one that looks menacing enough but the production itself looses that feel needed for someone to be afraid of it. The creature itself gets the ranking of Good, while the movie is Craptastic!
Cellar Dweller

Once in a while (maybe once or twice a decade), we get a movie with a Great creature AND the movie is just as good. Aliens (note the plurality in the title) is one of those movies, but the one I’m thinking of in particular…… is Gremlins! It starts out with just the one Mogwai (which is the cutest thing I have ever laid my eyes on) – Gizmo, who later spawn a few more Mogwais that later turn in to gremlins. These creatures are pure works of art and I doubt we’ll ever see something with such an impact again.
Gremlins

So far, I covered a few that holds up to some expectations, but what about the bad ones? Like the old Godzilla-suit? Or how about the Godzilla-creature from the 1998-remake? Or even the Xenomorph-suit from the Alien-film is one that I would like to call BAD (though that is mostly just based on the one scene where he wants to hug Ripley toward the end). But no, this is one worse than that… the Sharktopus! I mean, come on? Who the hell came up with this idea? Or rather, what did they smoke? This is without the slightest of doubts, the dumbest creature I have ever seen in a movie. Hell, even the premise of Sharknado is smarter than the idea behind this creature.
Sharktopus

You know what…. the sharktopus makes me so angry, that I have to go watch another stupid movie, just so I can relay my anger toward something else before I break something. I’ll let you know later on tonight how it turns out!

Until then…. stay away from drugs or you’ll end up with stupid ideas like the Sharktopus!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

