Sleepy Hollow – From legend to Movie to TV?

sleepy-hollow

Sleepy Hollow Depp Ricci

By now, everyone have heard the story of Ichabod Crane and the headless horsemen, the Legend of Sleepy Hollow. Starting out as a short story by Washington Irving, relating the tales of Ichabod Crane and his encounter with the Headless Horseman, it has worked its way through ‘countless’ film- and TV-adaptations, though most notably being the 1999-film which was directed by Tim Burton and had the story adapted for film by Kevin Yagher and Andrew Kevin Walker. The film stars Johnny Depp as the superstitious investigator Ichabod Crane, Christina Ricci as the beautiful Katrina Van Tassel and Christopher Walken as the legendary Hessian rider, a.k.a the Headless Horseman. The movie feels, although it’s not strictly following its source material, authentic and worthy of its praises, as it cemented the legend a household-tale for future generations to come and if, by chance, you haven’t seen it, please do.

As I mentioned earlier, the legend have been adapted several times before, and even if I would like to, I don’t quite have to time to talk about them all so a a list of honorable mentions feels in order.

  • The Headless Horseman (1922) – A silent movie, starring Will Rogers as Ichabod Crane.
  • Legend of Sleepy Hollow (1949) – A Disney-animation, narrated by Bing Crosby.
  • The Legend of Sleepy Hollow (1980) – A TV-movie adaptation, starring Jeff Goldblum as Ichabod Crane and Meg Foster as Katrina Van Tassel.
  • The Legend of Sleepy Hollow (1999) – A Canadian television film starring Brent Carver and Rachelle Lefevre.

Sleepy Hollow TV posterThe legends latest installment, however, is a TV-series on Fox, that premiered September 16th, (i.e last week, as I’m writing this). It brings the legend to Present day Sleepy Hollow and tells us the story of Ichabod Crane (while on a mission for George Washington during the American Revolution) “dies”, hortly after beheading an agent of Death, only to awaken again in 2013, along with the Headless Horseman. It’s an interesting take on the legend and while it most certainly takes its privileges with the source material by Washington Irving, it definitely gets the Tango’s Stamp of Approval. Sure, I’ve only seen the first episode, but I can’t really say I’m not hooked, ’cause I am. I love me some headlessness on horseback.

The series was created by Phillip Iscove, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci and Len Wiseman and stars Tom Mison (One Day, Venus) as Ichabod Crane, Nicole Beharie (American Violet, 42) as Lt. Abbie Mills and Orlando Jones (Evolution, Biker Boyz) as Captain Frank Irving, which I can’t seem to NOT take as a throwback to the original author.

This is definitely something I am looking forward to each week, and I strongly suggest you all give the pilot-episode at least a shot.

Sleepy Hollow 2013 Promo

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

