Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D pilot review.


Header

It all begins with an explosion. And what follows, was (since the shows announcement what’s have been rumored to be a Luke Cage a.k.a Power Man appearance) a fantastic scene in its own right and since the show has been receiving countless (negative) rumors about a variety of characters and story-outlines, my skepticism was at a all-time low but this scene by itself lured me back in.

The series was created for the American Broadcasting Company (ABC) by  Joss Whedon, Jed Whedon and Maurissa Tancharoen It is based on the fictional Marvel-organization S.H.I.E.L.D. (Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division) and it is set in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, taking its place after the events of The Avengers-movie, which I find extremely brilliant as it’s leaving us with the stand alone-films as they are.

The premise of the show is as follows; Agent Phil Coulson (played by Clarke Gregg, reprising his role), after a mysterious return from a bad case of ‘Dying’ during The Avengers, puts together a team of agents to handle strange cases, as the world now learned that we are not alone, and there are bad things (and good, of course) out there.

Agents

I really don’t care about the reasoning behind bringing Phil Coulson back, much like I don’t care about them using him in the animated series Ultimate Spider-Man (voiced by Gregg), giving us at least two separate Phil Coulson’s, both played by Clarke Gregg, because I find him as awesome as I find agent Simmons in Michael Bay’s Transformers-universe. It feels natural to me to have him in the show and if they couldn’t bring him back in a movie, this is really the way for them to go and I most certainly think that it will pay off in the end.

I won’t dive in to deep in to the plot of the pilot-episode, preventing me from dropping unwanted spoilers on you, but I will say this… If you’re at all a fan of the Marvel Cinematic universe, you will not be disappointed, as long as you keep in mind that it is a TV-SHOW, not a multi million dollar budget movie. As a conclusion of my quick thoughts on the show, it does indeed get…. the Tango’s Stamp of Approval!

However you’re watching your shows, if it’s on the couch at home, Netflix’ing it or downloading it (i’m not here to judge), track it down and watch it. It may not be as BIG as its predecessors but you should definitely treat it as such!

That’s it for now, more later. But until then…. keep it casual, don’t die. You won’t be able to pull a Coulson.

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

