Mother’s Day


2013 Horror-a-thon banner

Mother's Day posterOkay, so the toss-up is over and the movie we’re taking a look at today is Mother’s Day. The film was written by Scott Milam and is a remake (’twas a surprise) of the 1980-film of the same name (which was written by Charles Kaufman and Warren Leight). This is actually a time when I strongly disagree with how other people see the movie. Where the movie now stands with a 43% Fresh-rating on Rotten, (it earns at least a 70% rating in my book) a 6.1-score on IMDB (where I gave it a hard 8) and where it failed to be a box office hit, it did make back its $11 million (estimation) budget, so it comes with a lot of mixed bags if you’re going to listen to critics (or fan-reviewers like myself).

The movie stars Patrick Flueger (‘Ike’), Warren Kole (Addley) and Matt O’Leary (‘Johnny’), three brothers who after a botched bank robbery seeks refuge in what they thought were their old house (after beeing away for a while, their mother had to foreclose) and doing so, they crash a party held by its new tenants (Jaime King and Frank Grillo as Beth and Daniel Sohapi). They take the Sohapi’s and their guests hostage while awaiting the arrival of Mother (beautifully portrayed by Rebecca De Mornay) and that is when all hell breaks loose.

I have to say though… that, when I watched this movie, I did so with the notion of it being a horror-movie (IMDB does have it listed as ‘Horror’) but after about 20-30 minutes in, I realize that it’s more of a thriller but I decide to give it a once-over anyway and boy, am I glad I did. This movie makes for one scary movie. Not in the way a horror movie should, but in a psychological way. It keeps you on your toes with suspense through the entirety of it and every time you think you know you got it figured out, it makes a hard left-turn and disproves you. It also have that red-haired chick from ‘True Blood‘, Briana Evigan (most notable for her ‘Andie’ in the Step Up-franchise) and Lisa Marcos (model turned actress) so the movie is pretty damn beautiful to look at as well.

Rebecca De Mornay for Mother's DayBut the thing that made this movie Really interesting, is Rebecca De Mornay. Holy Chris, is she a talented actress! She delivers line after line with such beauty and grace, you’d almost think that if her life had a higher purpose, this movie was IT. She stole every scene she was in and she made every other actor/actress feel like they belonged in a day-time Soap-opera. And being that she plays a psychotic mother, one can’t help but to think back to her portrayal of Peyton Flanders in The Hand That Rocks the Cradle. At times, Mother’s Day almost feels like a sequel to that very movie and if it wasn’t for the fact that she died horribly in it, I would strongly argue that it is…. but, it’s not. And hey…. take a look. She aged rather well, don’ you think? Yeah, she did. Her immense talent to portray a psycho is only strengthened by the fact that she is gorgeous to look at… which in itself strengthens the movie as well. So I’m going to leave you now with a trailer to the movie, and a solemn promise; Tomorrow is going to be a shivers down the spine-kind of horror, not a scary thriller like this one. But until then… watch the trailer, and if you like what you see, watch the movie. I promise, it’s worth it!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

