Fright Night


2013 Horror-a-thon banner

Fright Night Poster

Yeah, Fright Night. And yeah, the remake! Why? Because I loved it, that’s why! This is actually one time I’m really glad they decided to remake a movie. The movie was written by Marti Noxon (adapted from Tom Holland’s original, really) and directed by Craig Gillespie and I have to say, they both did a great job! They kept the silly-ness from the original while still managing to keep it fresh and somewhat contemporary, which was highly appreciated at T.T headquarters. It stands proud with a 72% Fresh-rating against the originals 94% on Rotten and a 6.4 against a 6,9 score on IMDB, which is understandable as people tend to dislike remakes overall… But I think those ratings are pretty damn decent for a remake, and a horror-remake to boot.

Anyway, the premise of the movie is basically the same as it was back in 1985. A teenager, Ed (Evil-Ed, played by Christopher Mintz-Plasse) goes to his friend Charlie (played by Anton Yelchin) with the suspicions that his next door neighbor Jerry (Colin Farrell) is a vampire. Later on, after Ed disappears, Charlie himself starts to look in to it and together with his girlfriend Amy (Imogen Poots) they enlist the help of Vampire-aficionado Peter Vincent (played by David Tennant). Pretty basic remake-stuff, with the biggest part that seperates it from the original is that it focuses more on killing the vampire instead of the original’s focus is on Charlie getting laid and the vampire is his biggest obstacle. Kinda tickling notion really.

The first thing I thought after seeing this movie (the first time (right after I saw the original since I haven’t seen it yet)) was the choice of actors. At the time, I really don’t think they could have made better casting-choices really. Anton Yelchin and Imogen Poots was both stars on the rise and putting them together with Plasse as Evil-Ed and Colin Farrell as the (greatest I’ve seen since The Lost Boys) vampire, it was just a thrill to watch and a delight for the vampire-nerd inside of me (if vampires do exist, I do wish they’d make me one of them) to see the use of CGI in a really good way! Yeah, I’m talking about the Farrell/Vampire-“mask”.. it looked awesome as well as the transformation.
Colin Farrell Vampire

We don’t know what vampires looks like (if they exist) so when people say that the vampires in ‘Twilight’ looked more realistic than this, I loose all hope in humanity because if they exist (and I really hope they do), I would like to think that they (in their evil state, of course) looked like this. Not over-the-top freaky but still far enough away from humanity that you could spot them out of any lineup.

Imogen Poots

Another thing about this movie is the visuals overall. Everything from the desolate highways to the gleaming sunsets to the interiors of the houses… it all looks just great. And add to that the fact that you have some of the prettiest faces in Hollywood in the movie (No, I’m not talking about Mintz-Plasse here). I’m talking about Colin Farrell (yeah, I’m a dude who’s comfortable enough in my own skin to say this) who is, without any doubts at all, one of the hottest male actors at this time, and Imogen Poots, who’s just ……. wow!! I mean, c’mon!! She is at a level of Wow, it’s not even funny any more!! Just look at her… if she is in the movie, you’re going to like the movie, whether it’s good or not. Fortunately, in the case of Fright Night, Imogen Poots is just a bonus. Another thing in this movie that just made me smile is when Charlie tells his friend Evil-Ed that he reads way too much Twilight and Ed’s response is; “I seriously am so angry you think I read Twilight.” … I almost laughed my ass off, it was so funny!

Aaaand, there you go…. my quick-review of the Fright Night-remake. I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I loved seeing the movie. Now, I’m of for some Friday fun-time, with some wine, beer and hopefully some Imogen Poots-lookalikes! Tomorrow’s a new day, and that day will feature a title none other than The Unborn. But until then… look at Imogen and tell me I’m wrong about her hotness… I dare you!!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

