The Thing


2013 Horror-a-thon banner

The Thing bannerWell would you look at that. Turns out that I had all day to do whatever I want since the shooting isn’t starting until 3 am, so… here we go. Today’s topic; The Thing. The 2011 prequel to the 1982 movie with the same name (which is a remake of the 1951 classic  The Thing from Another World) and they are all based on John W. Campbell’s novella ‘Who goes there?‘. So they say that this movie is a prequel to the -82 film, but I have to say, up until the last 5 minutes of the movie, I thought it was pretty much the Exact same thing (<— get it?), only in a newer, fancier package. It was a good movie though, and the IMDB-rating at 6.2 and Metacritic’s 6.3 is a little low in my opinion. But hey, I’m a sucker for straight-up monster movies… and that’s pretty much exactly what it is, a Straight-smack-you-over-the-head Monster movie.. nothing more, nothing less. The director Matthijs van Heijningen Jr. and the writer Eric Heisserer can henceforth stand proud with the knowledge of them satisfying my Monster movie-needs for a while.

As you probably know, the movies predecessor takes place in Antarctica, and what’ya know, so does this one. Score for continuity, right? Yeah. Anywho, a team of Norwegian scientists discovers an alien spacecraft deep in the ice and just as everyone else in movies (apparently) they need assistance from the Americans, so they send for this chick (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) to safely get this Thing out of the ice. Of course, the thing breaks loose and starts to wreak havoc among the scientists, and due to the fact that this Thing can duplicate/copy/morph into pretty much any(living)thing it touches, they all start to turn on each other.

The CrewThe first act of the film is pretty slow-going, trying to establish somewhat of a suspenseful environment and it does feel as you want to pull your feet up from the floor at times, but as soon as the monster breaks loose, the suspense goes right out the window and it’s Balls to the wall-scary action from there on out. It have some jump-scares, yeah, but the thing that keeps this movie going is in fact that they don’t try to hide the monster at all. It’s all like “Here, have a monster, enjoy the chaos.” and it works. I’ve heard people say that the CGI was ‘over the top’ at times and I’m inclined to agree, but seeing as the monster has a habit of changing form A LOT in the movie, I would say it would be pretty damn hard (not to talk about expensive) to use props or costumes, so I accept the CGI in this one. In fact, I actually find it pretty funny (now,after I’ve seen the movie, of course… I never laugh during!).

Mary and JoelIn terms of the actors, I’d say that they did a pretty good job with what they had to work with. I would Never argue that they couldn’t have been replaced at any time. Some of them could even have been recast in the middle of the movie without me knowing noticing. Yeah, it’s that basic (and they all had big bushy beards, so)… One thing though, is that it featured Joel Edgerton, which over the course of one single movie became one of my favorite actors. Yeah, you guessed it, Warrior. He was awesome in that and I was kinda disappointed that he didn’t bring his A-game in this one too, he could have done so much more with his role. And of course, Mary Elizabeth Winstead is not the slightest bit of gorgeous, no… no, eh… yeah, she is! Not the best actress though…

Anyway, the movie as a whole is okay, not the best monster-movie out there but it’s definitely not the worst. BUT… and I don’t just say this because I’m a sucker for Kurt Russell. If you have to choose between this one and the -82 version, I’d watch the -82, it’s just better and that’s a fact. But hey, maybe you disagree, I don’t know, but at least now you know what I think, and that’s pretty much the idea behind me writing this shit, so…
Tomorrow’s a new day, and I sincerely hope I find the time to do what I do best….. watch movies… and writing about’em. But until then, which Thing do you feel is better?

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

