Stephen King’s 1408

2013 Horror-a-thon banner

1408 BannerOkay, so I watched 1408 the other day, and just as I wrote in a quick-note, I had to watch it again ’cause it was just to much for my mind to comprehend at the time. Now, I gathered myself a bit and I watched it a second time. So what can be said about the movie? A whole lot, actually, but I am only going to give you some quick thoughts on it (for now)… starting off of course, with the ratings. As it is currently standing at a solid 6.6 on Meta and 6.7 on IMDB, I have to agree with those scores. The movie was far from bad but at the same time it was far from great, so I would give it a score of 6 or 7 myself. The writers (Matt Greenberg, Scott Alexander, Larry Karaszewski) did a great job of adapting Stephen King’s short-story to a screenplay and the director (Mikael Håfström) did just as good a job with the final script.

And on to the movie itself… and since it now have a few years behind it, I’m guessing most of you have already seen it, so the premise is well known at this point. The occult-author Mike Enslin (John Cusack) who travels from one (supposed) haunted hotel to another. He checks in to room 1408 at the Dolphin Hotel in New York city and for the first time in his career, he gets to be a part of something extraordinarily supernatural. All kinds’a crazy shit happens, with ghosts of previous tenants committing suicide, the ocean erupts out of a painting, the room freezes over, among other things….

Cusack madThe first act of the film is pretty slow and boring, using what it has to build up a suspenseful atmosphere around the main character (Enslin) and Gerald Olin, the hotel manager (Sam. Jackson), but about 35-40 minutes in, stuff starts to happen… and when it does, it all comes at you Fast. You barely have time to blink and something else have happened. This makes the movie feel a little messy but somehow, it still works. And it’s safe to say that the movie 1408 is all about John Cusack. This is his show and I am having a hard time coming up with another actor who could have given this character justice. Hat’s off to Mr. Cusack’s performance in this one! They could have left everything before he goes in to the room And everything else around it, and it would’ve still been as good, thanks to him!

Anyway, I have to leave it at that (for now), since I have 2 more reviews to do tonight if I am to get back on track with the Horror-a-thon, so… if you by any far off chance haven’t seen 1408 yet, I strongly recommend you to do so, even if it’s just a Good movie. So until later on…… believe in ghosts, I do and it’s awesome when shit starts hitting the fan!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

