Wes Craven’s New Nightmare


2013 Horror-a-thon banner

New Nightmare banner This… is when you should get scared… ’cause this is the first time Freddy Kreuger scared the jeebus out’a me in a semi-grown up state of mind. Yeah, I’m talking about Wes Craven’s New Nightmare a.k.a “Nightmare on Elm Street 7″. Written and directed by…. you guessed it… Wes Craven!!  When I saw this movie I had just become a 17 year old “man” (yeah, I know, as a Freddy-fan, I should’ve seen it loong before that, seeing that it was released in 1994) and for the first time as a “not kid” (I don’t wanna say I was a grown-up, as I am now 30 and still not a grown-up) and my balls were really friggin rattled!  In comparison to the first in the series (Nightmare on Elm Street with a 7.5 on IMDB and a stunning 95% Fresh on Rotten), this one doesn’t quite hold up… but hey, that’s just ratings, huh, nothing to look at? As far as I’m concerned, this one is (based upon me being scared of it at 17 rather than 8) more worthy of the score and as such, if it were up to me, I would switch the scores around, giving the original (yeah I’m ALWAYS gonna call it that, because that’s what it IS!!) the IMDB‘s 6.3 and the Rotten‘s 77% Fresh. But hey… don’t you dare think I’m speaking ill of the original…. A Nightmare on Elm Street IS, and will ALWAYS be a strong classic, no matter what!

New Nightmare FreddyAnywho and aarghs…. The movie as it goes (you know, the premise and all that), stand out from the original series continuity, being set in the “Real world”, where Freddy Kreuger is no more than a movie villain. Of course, with Wes Craven behind the wheel, shit hits the fan and Freddy is now A REAL LIFE MONSTER, tormenting the “real” Heather Langenkamp and her family as they are currently shooting a “new Freddy-movie”.  Heather’s kid is involved, blood is being spilled and everything is just as ginormously ‘silly’ as it always has been in the Nightmare-series, but in trying to “keep it real” just pushes it over the edge…. a bit… at least that’s how I feel now when I watch it (and I watch it at least once a year, along with its predecessors), but back then, you know, Way back in the day, that shit just hit me SMACK in the face, leaving me all like’ What the fuck!!’ and enter My nightmares!! And fact of the matter is, Freddy’s new look… yeah, it’s awesome! Sure, it’s probably just ’cause it looks way cooler than the old one (speaking as my 17 year old self now) but with the coat and the new shade of green on the hat… yeah it works, Big time!

Langenkamp Saxon Englund New NightmareOf course, Robert Englung is back as Freddy, the second-to-last time we would ever see him in his now iconic role. (Thank you (read: Fuck you!) Samuel Bayer and Jackie Earle Haley! Sure, you did a good job, but personally, I would’ve liked to see Englund portray this badass bastard at LEAST  3 or 4 more times After Freddy vs. Jason. ) And as always, he does a fantastic job of it. It doesn’t matter how many times they remake this movie. They can do it 25 times over the next 400 years, Robert Englund would still be the best Freddy Kreuger, hands down! And as I mentioned earlier, the “real” Heather Langenkamp is back.. and yeah, that means Heather Langenkamp is back, both as Nancy And herself. The only thing NOT wrong with that, though, is everything. She is just Great! I would even go as far as to say that she’s better in his one than she was in the first one…. and yeah, I know it’s not much to go for, but hey…… it’s Nancy, everybody, and we love Nancy! Tell me right now, show of hands…. who did not cry out in happiness when she returned for Dream Warriors? Yeah, I thought so….

And hey…. John Saxon’s back to… yeah, and with that awesome namedrop, I’m out!! Until the next one….. Don’t hate me just because I didn’t watch New Nightmare in -94…. I was just 11, I didn’t know any better!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

