Sinister


2013 Horror-a-thon banner

Sinister BannerAnd we’re back with yet another installment of the 2013 Horror-a-thon, and this time we’re turning our gaze on the film Sinister from 2012. The movie was written and directed by Scott Derrickson and co-written by C. Robert Cargill. The movie stars Ethan Hawke, who is supported by Juliet Rylance and Fred Dalton Thompson. The film has received rather mixed bags (albeit slightly more to the positive side) from both critics and the audience and it stands at 63% Fresh-rating on Rotten and it has a 6.7-score on IMDB so far, but I’m pretty sure that in time, this movie’s ratings will go up a bit. It’s just that different…… I think.

Ethan Hawke SinisterAnywho… the movie stars Ethan Hawke as Ellison Oswalt, a washed-up true crime writer who, with his family (wife and two kids), moves into a house where a horrifying murder took place. [This murder is depicted in the movie’s opening credits in form of a Super 8 snuff-film, which gave the movie a creepy feel to it right there.] Ellison has neglected to tell his family of this particular circumstance, with the intent of using this murder as the basis of his new book. A pretty great setup for what turned out to be a great movie experience. While putting away some boxes in the attic, he finds a box full of old Super 8-films, all of which contains recordings of several gruesome murders, and while watching these movies for research purposes, all kinds’a things happen. At one point, he sees a figure in the bottom of a pool and that’s when the movie started to creep me the F’CK! out!

While not as horrifying as a horror-movie “should” be, this movie excels when it comes to suspense. I was grabbing my shoulders and twitching to every sound outside during the entirety of the film, so when the jump-scares came, I jumped……. and ‘screamed’ at times, almost like a little girl at one point.

If you and your significant other are planning a scary movie-night on Halloween, this would most definitely be the recommendation you’ll get from me. Hands down, the best title of this years Horror-a-thon!

Well, that’s it for my thoughts on Sinister…. for now! It may or may not be that I come back later on tonight for one of those catchin-up reviews, so you’ll just have to wait and see….. Either way, tomorrow will be at least a two-fer, that’s for sure! But until then… if you’re a big macho-dude like me (self-distance not necessary), don’t creep out and scream like a little girl, you’ll annoy the neighbors!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

One response to “Sinister

Leave a Reply

