Video game-based movies with a Fantasy-cast on the side.


Once again, it’s been a few days since my last post, but no need to get your panties all up in a bunch, I have my reasons. The reasons are mainly that I’ve watched a LOT of movies, but also because I’ve been spending some time at my PS3 (yeah, I’m a Playstation-man, to the bone!), which in terms have got me thinking, Again, on a few titles that I think should be made in to movies.

The Legend of Zelda coverAnd to start this whole thing off, why not go with a classic. I’m talking about the game that started it all, The Legend of Zelda, also known as The Hyrule Fantasy: Legend of Zelda, which gives us a great sub-title for the movie as well. The basic outline of the game would make for one hell of an adventure on the big screen and given that it is the first in a lengthy series, the opportunities for a franchise are great, to say the least. Of course, whoever who were to make it would give themselves up completely for some serious fan-backlash, but that’s pretty much a given with anything based on anything successful, but seeing as the Zelda-series have become such a phenomenon, I’m pretty sure that the production wouldn’t even be an issue without Miyamoto overseeing it all.

But who would we have cast in the film? I’m thinking a fresh face for the young adventurer Link, no one we’ve seen too much of already, someone who’s got something to prove. Cayden Boyd should do the trick I think. As for the princess, seeing as she probably won’t get too much screen-time given the nature of the game’s original story, Zelda should be portrayed by someone who can make us believe that she is in danger while at the same time show us that she, if she absolutely have to, can take care of herself. For me, Abigail Breslin feels just right for the part. And finally, we’ve come to Ganon. This is where you need someone who could play devious with a touch of insane as well as menacing and corrupt. Someone who’s not afraid to push the boundaries of the character. This is also the one that was the easiest to cast. It just have to be Aaron Eckhart.

Link, Zelda, Ganon fantasycastAny thoughts? If you do, just throw them in the comment-section and we’ll discuss it. Seeing as the Zelda-series is a touchy subject for a lot of people out there, I’m well aware of the fact that most of the fans don’t want it becoming a movie, and hey, I can understand that, because most of the time, Hollywood f*cks it up (I’m thinking mostly about Michael Bay here), but with the right director with the right script, along with these three actors at the helm, I think it could be done in a way that gives the game (and series) the respect it deserves.

Anyway, that’s all for now, but I’ll be dropping a few of these video game-casts your way every now and then, so stay tuned for more of my weird, twisted, obscure and sometimes even laughable thoughts on subjects that don’t really matter, I just want to get it out there before it overloads my brain, turning me into mosh.

Well, take care now, bye bye then….

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

