Thor: The Dark World – quick-review

Okay…. yeah, eh…. I’m not quite sure how to do this, ehm.. okay, yeah, I got it…. WOW!!! If I had to choose ONE word to describe this movie, it just has to be; Wow! I don’t even know how to describe it, it was just that awesome. But… I’m not giving you a full review on the movie, since I see myself not worthy of such a task. Instead, I’m giving you some trademark-thoughts on it, my first impressions, so to speak…

Thor The Dark World bannerThe first thing I have to say about this movie is the opening scene… Oh my Chris, what a beautiful way to open a movie. It completely set the mood for the entirety of the film and not even once, did the movie let down. Sure, it had some obvious inspirations, but as a fan-boy, I accept them gladly.

Second, I just have to acknowledge the acting. Chris Hemsworth does a better Thor than ever, Tom Hiddleston reminds us why Loki is the greatest villain of all time and …. okay, this is where the shivers start. Christopher Eccleston as Malekith….. I don’t even know how to describe it. It’s like… it’s like your first kiss. You’ve dreamed about it for such a long time, and when it finally happens… it feels SO much better than what you actually thought it would. Heath Ledger gave us one frikkin’ fantastic Joker in The Dark Knight and Hiddleston gave us a better-than-ever Loki in both Thor and The Avengers, but Eccleston’s Malekith kicks their asses so bad, they both feel like  Jensen Ackles in Days of Our Lives. Never before have I felt so good about a bad guy in a movie. WOW!!! Oh, and you know that Idris Elba’s in the movie too, right? Yeah, he was in the first Thor as well, but this time, we actually gets to see him act.. and yeah, he’s Idris Elba… you know… GREAT!!!

The third thing I have talk about real quick… it’s the visuals. Thor: The Dark World is one of the most beautiful movies I have seen in a VERY long time.  No matter what company is behind a movie these days, you could almost always see the CGI taunting you at some point or another in a movie, but in ..The Dark World, no, you just can’t. Everything is flawless in detail, and it will (in my eyes, of course) stand as true to todays SFX-technology as Jurassic Park did in the -90s.

And last, but NOT least… the music. When I first heard that Patrick Doyle was not to return for this sequel, I was more than skeptical. But then, the news of Brian Tyler hit the web and I was …. ‘hmm, can he do as good a job as Doyle?’ … and yeah, he did. Well, not AS good, but as far as sequel-music goes, it doesn’t get better than this!

Finally, I just have to say to EVERYONE who hasn’t seen this movie… if you don’t watch it and I find out that you haven’t, I will personally track you down and MAKE YOU WATCH IT!!!!!

And that’s it for now… see y’all tomorrow for something not quite as good as …The Dark World. But until then…. niteynitey, please watch Thor: The Dark World, it’s for your own safety!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

