Terminator 5 …. Franchise revival or utter dead end?


Ever since the announcement of a fifth installment in the Terminator-franchise, the action-fan in me grew restless and unsettled. The first two movies was both, in very different but at the same time the same ways, masterpieces and as a final piece of the trilogy, ..Rise of the Machines wasn’t as bad (I think) as people say it was. Then came Salvation, who is if something, a mixed bag for pretty much everyone I’ve ever talked to about it. Personally, I love the film, as I watch it, not for what it could have been, but for what it is.. a post-apocalyptic action-movie with Terminator-ish plot devices.

Terminator banner

We also had the Sarah Connor Chronicles tv-show to bind the 2nd and 3rd movie together, but as the series failed to do anything but confuse the story further, it was cancelled after a mere 2 seasons.

Now, with a fifth installment of the movie-franchise on the way, it seems the fate of the franchise is looking on a complete reboot. Sure, with the time travel-element as it is, the opportunities are endless for this film to take everything we know about John and Sarah Connor, Skynet and the ‘terminators’ in new directions, without nullifying previous seen events. With that said, if they are about to recast the main characters (John and Sarah), they should tread lightly, for these are beloved characters as it is and one wrong move will be the end of the franchise for good… at least that’s what I think.

Another thing that keeps bothering me is the rumors (?) of Arnold Schwarzenegger returning to the franchise? How are they supposed to do that? The only thing I can think of, in ways of pulling him off is to show him as the man who once stood model for the T-800, now aging and somehow involved with the rebellion, or maybe as one of Skynets developers, modeling the cyborg after himself?

Do you have any thoughts on the subject? Please, let me know, I would love to discuss it with you. And as always, more goodies to come later on, but until then, you’ll just have to make due with what you got!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

