Marvel TV and Netflix…

Well, as fate would have it, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. wasn’t as good as one had hoped. Sure, it’s watchable, but only when there’s else to watch. At least that’s how it is for me. but that don’t stop Marvel from attempting to conquer the magnificent land of Television, no sir.

Marvel Banner

Some time ago, an announcement was made, that Marvel were to develop no less than 4 interconnecting TV shows(Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist) and a mini-series. Wow, that’s pretty damn ambitious, I think.  Don’t get me wrong, I would be stoked if they managed to bring the entirety of the Marvel-universe come to life in live-action form, but the risk of overcrowding the world with superheroes grows bigger and bigger with every announcement they make and if we (the fans) get too much at once, isn’t there a risk of us loosing interest in it all? That’s how I see it anyway, at least for now. But who knows, the risk of it being Awesome is just as big, so in the end, we’ll just have to wait and see….
Marvel TV characters

Daredevil_92_1024When it comes to Daredevil, I feel that his fate is split right down the middle. Half of the fans have waited a long time for his reboot, whilst the other half think that he doesn’t deserve one since the last attempt failed miserably. Personally, I think it would be awesome to see Matt Murdoch don the cowl on screen again. Hopefully, we get to see villains like Bullseye and the Kingpin again as well, but I hope they do them justice this time around!

jessica-jonesAs far as Jessica Jones goes, this seems like a fantastic way to bring the character to the mainstream audience. I consider myself somewhat of a Marvel-geek and there’s not really much I could have told you about her before I found out they were bringing her to the screen. I knew about her, but I didn’t know anything about her, if you understand? In short, this is one character I’m hyped to find out more about, to say the least.

iron_fist_comic_book_image_01Next up, we have Iron Fist (or Danny Rand, if you prefer). Now here’s when it gets really exciting for me, as he is my third (After Spider-Man and Batman) favorite superhero of all time! From his cryptic way of talking to his awesome ass-kicking, this guy is an all around asskicker and I can’t wait too see his K’un-Lun badassery in live action-form!! On a side note: If they screw his series up, I will be severely Pissed OFF!

luke_cageAnd last, but certainly not least, we have Luke Cage – Power Man. This is another favorite of mine that I’m really excited about. The Harlem-born badass with impenetrable skin. Yeah, this guy can kick some serious ass and I’m pretty sure this would be one of the most violent of the four shows. At least that’s what I’m hoping for. On a side note: Seeing him and Iron Fist together on TV would be spectacular!!

Some initial, quick thoughts on the future of Marvel TV for you there. I didn’t include any fantasy casts in this one as I haven’t really given it that much thought yet, but don’t you worry… there will be a cast on it soon enough. But until then…. Stay safe. Stay inside, read some comics!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

2 responses to “Marvel TV and Netflix…

Leave a Reply

