Quintessential movie-titles! #1


Hey, guess what….. I’ve gone and acquired myself one of those mythical creatures known as “girlfriends”, hence the lack of postage lately. But I’m not here to tell you about stuff like that, so why am I telling you this? Well, because this event has opened my eyes to a thing I would like to proclaim as a sort of blasphemy. “What the Hell is he talking about?”, you ask? It’s like this… my new girlfriend told me that she had never seen Star Wars. I know, what the hell, right! But apparently, it’s more common than one would think, so I thought I’d put together a list of movies that I feel is quintessential for any one person to see, kinda like the book “1001 Movies To Watch Before You Die” but with flair and pizzazz, so let’s get right down to it!

Star WarsFirst off, we have Star Wars. To make everything as easy as possible, let’s just say Saga, so I’m not leaving anything out (and yeah, that means the prequels as well!). Whenever I hear someone hasn’t seen Star Wars, it’s almost like my eyes pop out of my skull with a nice blend of disgust, fear and surprise. I mean, why? How can a person NOT have seen it? I can’t understand it, but every time I hear it, I make it my mission to get them to watch it. And when I do, I try to make them watch it in the order they were released, i.e Han was the only one who shot and so on… They are supposed to be seen in the order that they were released and all those edits and whatever, that comes later if (when) they fall in love with the Saga!

Back to the FutureSecond, we have the Back to the Future-trilogy. Anyone born pre-90s should have this on DVD (or sometimes even VHS), because it’s just one of those things. You learn to tie your shoes, peel your own potatoes, wake up in the morning, recognize a DeLorean… like things you just know how to do, Back to the Future is just something that you know by heart because you’ve seen it so many times. Everything nowadays is jam-packed with …Future-references and if you don’t understand them when you see’em, you’ve done something wrong in your life.

Indiana JonesComing in third, we have the Indiana Jones-trilogy. I’m only counting the first three here, because they feel more classic than the last one (not that I didn’t love that one too, because I did!). This trilogy is just as classic as Star Wars, being a George Lucas-creation and with the help of Mr. Spielberg, it raises itself to glory and fame for movie-lovers everywhere and if you by chance haven’t seen them, you deserve a whipping or three, preferably in the face with something that really stings (a whip, perhaps?).

The Lion KingLastly (for now, that is), we have a movie I would declare “Best Movie of ALL TIME”, and that is The Lion King. Anyone from the age of 15, love this movie because it’s the most lovable movies ever made, and everyone below 15 loves this movie because it’s awesome. It was made for kids but loved by adults. Why? Because it has everything any movie could ever hope to have; story, depth, music, memorable characters, quotability and oh so much more. I see it as a death penalty if you haven’t seen it, and I’ll be glad to dish it out myself to anyone who say otherwise!

I have given you four movies now, that I feel is necessary to watch at least once (before you fall in love with them, and you will), and I will give you a lot more, but this will have to do for now, because I’m about to play some f*n Skyrim…. but if (and you probably have) you have a title or two you feel everybody needs to watch, feel free to drop it as a comment and I’ll get to it soon enough! Now…. coffe and Skyrim. Laterz!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

