Denzel Washington’s The Equalizer review

A little late, but as promised… The Equalizer.
Let me start this off with this; Antoine Fuqua and Denzel Washington together is like chocolate frosting on cake… it works and it works good. With that said, this movie is not without its flaws. Let me tell you what I thought about it..

Equalizer banner

The Equalizer, a movie about a man trying to forget his past but events drags him back in. Well, that’s a premise we’ve all seen before. A few times to often, even. But still, it’s Denzel Washington, so how bad can it be? Exactly. But it’s not just Denzel Washington. He’s back together with his Training Day-director Antoine Fuqua and the two together is one fine combination, so this movie, albeit nothing new, was a great piece of cinema. It had a a tone set to it that was refreshing amidst all that is Superheros and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Denzel does his usual thing, being a complete badass alongside a kind of cool that only he can bring, but that’s not new anymore. We all know what he can do and even if he does it with greatness, it’s still just grabbing what he got in his bag of tricks. It’s like back in the 80’s when Arnold Schwarzenegger grabbed the biggest gun (on the planet)… it was awesome and kickass but we all knew it would happen at some point. Nevertheless, he liked what he did and I’m pretty sure I’m gonna like it the next time he does it as well.

The villain in this movie, well… nothing new here either, I’m afraid. A cool, methodical sociopath with a military background gone freelance. Yeah, we’ve all seen that before. But the thing that made this villain stand out among villains was Marton Csokas. With the exception of Mark Strong and Christopher Eccleston, Csokas is the go to-guy when you want a great movie villain. I mean, his voice alone would be enough to give children nightmares for weeks and add to that a charisma that’s out of this world and you have yourself a winner (or looser, since the baddies always looses in movies).

As far as the story goes, it’s as basic as always in these types of movies. Bad things happen to an innocent person so the hero corrects the wrong and ends up having to deal with an even bigger threat. As said, it’s nothing new at all, but somehow Fuqua makes this one work. Not to mention his sense of style. Some of the scenes in this film was unbelievable, like when a oil depot blows up… talk about a great use of slow-mo!

All in all, it was a good movie experience, but seeing as it didn’t bring anything new to the table, it’s just that, a good movie experience. It does get the ‘Tango’s Stamp of Approval’ but I’m not particularly excited for its DVD/Blu-ray release. In stead, I’ll wait for it to hit Netflix to see it again.

That’s it for now, I gotta hit the gym, but I’ll be back later on with something really cool. So stay tuned for that, but until then….

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

One response to “Denzel Washington’s The Equalizer review

Leave a Reply

