Holiday-A-Thon #2 Surviving Christmas (2004)

Tango's Thoughts Holiday-A-Thon banner

As the 2014 Holiday-A-Thon continues, I give you some thoughts on what I would like to call a pleasant surprise; Surviving Christmas, a christmas-themed film starring Ben Affleck, Christina Applegate, James Gandolfini and Catherine O’Hara (among others).

Surviving Christmas banner

The movie centers around a young millionaire (Affleck) who finds himself having loneliness issues around the holidays and “rents” the family (Gandolfini and co.) residing in his childhood home to be “His” family over the holidays. ‘Say what?’ Yupp, that was kinda my reaction to at first, but as I said, the movie was a pleasant surprise. Sure, it was in essence just a romantic comedy, but the fact that it centers around his Holiday issues makes it a little bit more than just a plain seen-it-all-before rom-com.

Yes, we do have all the awkwardness of an orthodox rom-com, sure, but add to that the awkwardness of a teenage boy just discovering Internet smut, a stranger telling everyone what to do because he did so as a child and the ex-girlfriends family meeting a recast (and black) doo-dah… all in a ominous Christmas setting… yeah, we have a pretty good movie.

Yeah, this second installment of my 2014 Holiday-a-Thon also receives the ‘Tango Approved for Xmas’ stamp. What, am I being to generous with the stamps? Well, we’ll just have to wait and see about that, aren’t we so tune in again tomorrow to see if I’l dolling out another stamp. But, as always, until then….

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

