Holiday-a-Thon #3 Deck the Halls (2006)

Tango's Thoughts Holiday-A-Thon banner

Deck the Halls posterDeck the Halls, a Christmas bonanza of the slightly more christmas light’y variety. The 2006 holiday movie follows Steve Finch (Matthew Broderick), a family man, and local Christmas expert, hellbent on keeping the Christmas traditions going and his new neighbor Buddy Hall (Danny DeVito), who in turn is hellbent on making his house visible from space.

As Buddy’s obsession with the Christmas lights grows, so does the towns respect for him as the new Christmas expert, which in turn pushes Steve to the brink of insanity as he sees his legacy go up in flames (literally, at one point) and a neighborly war of incredibly awkward proportions. As far as the movie goes it’s not at all bad, although I won’t be pushing for the family to watch it every year. It has quite a few good laughs in there, sure, but the overall clichéd feel of it all brings it down a few notches. With that said, if I find the movie randomly playing on TV, I won’t hesitate to watch it, because it is after all is said and done quite the Okay Christmas film. Tango’s Approved for Christmas – received.

If you come back tomorrow I’ll have another, slightly grumpy, two sizes too small addition of my Holiday-a-Thon ready for you, but until then…

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

