Holiday-a-Thon #5 A Christmas Carol (2009)

Tango's Thoughts Holiday-A-Thon bannerA Christmas Carol 2009 bannerThe reanimation (pun intended) of Charles Dickens’ classical tale of Ebenezer Scrooge and his journey of self-redemption is a wonderfully delightful addition to this years Holiday-a-Thon.

The spot-on renderings of the actors is astonishing to say the least, with amazing likenesses not only on Jim Carrey, but on Gary Oldman, Colin Firth and Bob Hoskins as well, all with their own character distinctions to make them their own. Truly a fantastic job done by the animators.

Oldman Hoskins Firth A Christmas Carol

As for the movie itself, well… the easiest way to say it would be that it’s a fantastic retelling of a beloved story. As the book have been adapted several times over the years, this animated version stands strong, in my book, as a definite Must-see-during-the-holidays. If you don’t agree with me, what are your choices? The 1908-version with Thomas Ricketts? The simply titled Scrooge from 1935? Or perhaps Mickey’s Christmas Carol from 1983 (which, by the way, is another telling of the story that I watch every year)? Whatever your preference, the story is the same and I hope your choice brings you as much joy and merriment as this one gives me.

……….. and yes, I know I’m a little off schedule, but I’m making my time up as it goes, so I’ll be back on track in no time at all, so next up on my to do-list is the ever so beloved Griswold family and their Christmas shenanigans. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, up next, but until then………..

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

