Holiday-a-Thon #16 Elf (2003)

Tango's Thoughts Holiday-A-Thon banner

Elf bannerWhat to say about this one? Well, it’s kinda easy, actually. Elf is a typical Will Ferrell-movie, spiced with a Christmas theme. Nothing more, nothing less. Sure, it has some funny moments, but it’s not a laugh-out-loud kind of film and even though it is a Christmas movie, I don’t think it’s a particularly good one. The best thing about this film though, is James Caan. He brings a spectacular skepticism about Buddy (Ferrell) being his kid along with the skepticism about Christmas as a whole to the screen like no other man could. Absolutely brilliant acting from an amazing actor. He absolutely carries the entire movie.

No, this won’t be ending up on my Top5 come 25th, but it’s a pretty safe film to watch with your kids and/or people that are just bored out of their minds. As I missed publishing this last night, this will be the first of three posts today so that I’ll be back on track again with the dailys, so be sure to tune in later today for some more reading, but until then…

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

