Holiday-a-Thon #23 It’s a Very Merry Muppet Christmas (2002)

Tango's Thoughts Holiday-A-Thon banner

It's a Very Merry Muppet Christmas bannerIn 2011, the Muppets had to pull their strengths together to save their theatre. Well, that’s nothing new for the Muppets, actually, as that is the exact plot of this It’s a Very Merry Muppet Christmas. Yeah sure, they are not identical, not by a long-shot  But the essence of them both is the same…. but that’s okay, ’cause it works. When it comes to The Muppets, nothing is off the table. I imagine the creative meetings going something like this;
– “Have we done this thing before?
– Who cares, just put a spin on it and it’ll be just fine.”
But like I said, when it comes to the Muppets, that’s okay, ’cause they’re just that fun to watch anyways, and this Christmas themed film is nothing but not that. A fun watch. Classic Muppet comedy with the ever awesome Kermit in the front, followed closely by Fozzy, Gonzo, Miss Piggy and all the rest.

This may not be the greatest Christmas film of all time, but it sure is one hell of a good watch. Why? ‘Cause it’s the damn Muppets, that’s why. Jim Henson, I salute you for creating The Muppets!

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve, and as I am of Swedish decent, this is the day I’ll be celebrating the holidays, but don’t worry, the Holiday-a-thon will come to a close on Thursday with My definitive Top5 list of Must-watch Christmas films, so tune in later this week if you want to read some final thoughts on my favorite holiday themed movies. “But wait, shouldn’t there be 24 movies?” Right you are, my friend! As I said, tomorrow is Christmas Eve, so I’ll be glooming a stare on the TV tomorrow as well, and the classic that I’ll be watching is….. you guessed it, It’s a Wonderful Life, so please tune in tomorrow as well. But hey, if you read this (and/or that) after the holidays, have a Merry Christmas, a happy Hanukkah, a happy Kwanza (and a merry whatever you’re celebrating)… let’s just say Happy Holidays!!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

