#TheBattleOfTheFiveArmies – A Hobbit review

After a 13 years and some change, Peter Jackson’s  multi-billion dollar franchise has come to a an end. What began with The Fellowship of the Ring in 2001 met its conclusion with The Battle of the Five Armies and wow, what an end it was. Even if I did skip the 3D High frame rate version, I did see the film so here it is, my thoughts (some of them) on The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies.
Battle of The Five Armies banner

First off, I just want to say that it’s been oh so many years since I read the book, so if something was missing or has been added, I’m not one to say, more than what I’ve heard other people say.
Secondly, I thought I’d talk a little bit about the actors. Throughout this prequel-trilogy, we’ve come to know actors such as Martin Freeman (Bilbo), Evangeline Lilly (Tauriel), Richard Armitage (Thorin), Aidan Turner (Kili) and Graham McTavish (Dwalin) among others and I have to say, that every actor behind every dwarf has done a tremendous job. From Thorin’s driven ambition to Kili’s infatuation with Tauriel, they all did what they were supposed to and more, at times. Even the addition of Luke Evans’ Bard was brilliant. And of course the ones we already know, like Ian McKellen’s and Orlando Bloom’s Gandalf and Legolas. Just brilliance all the way through.

The Hobbit Battle of the Five Armies posterBut what about the movie itself? Yeah, it was indeed a great film. As I’ve mentioned a few times here and there, I think that this prequel-trilogy is overall better than the Ring-trilogy but this third (sixth) and final film was just not as good as the first two Hobbits. As I’ve heard other critics and reviewers mention since the films release, these films each feel like a separate act of the same film, with this one being the third conclusive act with all the action and all the payoff. That doesn’t mean that the other two lacked action and/or payoff, it just means that this one feels forced somewhat out of place. It’s a great film, certainly, but it could have been more. The beginning of this film feels like the end of the last one and the severe lack of climax at the end, with the war just ending, it’s unsatisfying to say the least. But, it did tie in magnificently to The Fellowship of The Ring and alongside the magnificent cast and the overwhelming scenery we’ve all come to know and love in Jackson’s interpretation of these books, it was an overall good movie experience. Tango’s ‘Stamp of Approval’ received!

That’s it for now, I’m gonna go watch The Two Towers now. Why? Because I can, that’s why. But hey, don’t worry. I’ll be back again soon with something a little more nerdy and geek-worthy, but until then…
Here’s  The Last Goodbye by Billy Boyd. Enjoy!

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

