#IntoTheStorm – A disaster movie review

So I finally had a chance to see Into The Storm, last year’s attempt to take the now watered down “found footage” idea into the disaster genre, and here’s what I thought about it…
Into the Storm banner

I wanna start this review by saying one thing. One simple thing that sums up what I thought about the film as a whole, and that thing is; I’d rather go watch Twister again, and I saw that movie last summer. Now for some thoughts on Into The Storm.

The “found footage” angle on this film is that the film is a collaborated documentary between a group of storm trackers, thrill seekers and a High School time capsule project. It feels forced, generic and at times even dumb and I didn’t care for it at all. It brings nothing new to the table what so ever. Sure, there was some pretty astonishing effects, but that’s only supposed to awe the audience, not carry the entire film so it falls short on basically every level.

The cast is as generic as they come, with Sarah Wayne Callies and Matt Walsh being the only two people I even recognized from earlier work. But… in the midst of all this negativity, I heard a voice that felt oddly familiar. The man with this voice wasn’t familiar to me at all, so I checked on IMDB afterward, and lo and behold, it was none other than Richard Armitage, or, Thorin Oakenshield as it were. So my question is this; What the hell does a man like Richard Armitage, a man with immense talent and charisma, do in a film like this? I don’t know the answer to that, but I certainly hope that he’ll be more selective of his work from now on.

The director of the film, Steven Quale, who also directed the fifth and final (I hope) installation of the Final Destination-franchise, did what he could with what he had I suppose. But again, whatever his best was didn’t cut it so this one gets the ‘Tango’s Stamp of No!’ as I will not be eager to watch this movie again any time soon.

Have you seen it? What did you think about it? Let me now down below, and be sure to check in again soon as I’ll be doing more of these reviews all year long. But until then…

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

2 responses to “#IntoTheStorm – A disaster movie review

  • Chrys Page

    For those of us who follow the career of Richard Armitage, and who worship him as an inspirational being on the planet, we really don’t care what you think, HankTango, although of course you are entitled to your opinions.
    But the projects that this man chooses to participate in are in keeping with his desire for all sorts of experiences as he mentions in multiple interviews. For example, he spent much time being sprayed with torrents of water and hanging from a wire in this movie, which he also experienced in The Hobbit. The man is selective in the roles he chooses and does so carefully and thoughfully.
    This is an artist who is so far ABOVE the mainstream “movie star” that you probably are not understanding his motivations. I would suggest that you go out to YouTube and listen to him being interviewed. He doesn’t take himself so seriously as some others do, and BTW, the overall reviews of Into The Storm were not so bad. The movie made some bucks and was fun. If you watch footage from ComicCon in San Diego, you will see that.
    Thanks for the opportunity to comments, and trust me, my under garments are perfectly situated and not at all bunched up.

    • hanktango

      Wow, you make it sound like I was bashing Armitage, which I wasn’t, quite the opposite. He was, in my opinion, the only good thing about this film.

      As for the movie being “fun” and , well, that’s your opinion and you are of course entitled to it. And just because it made money doesn’t mean it was a good film.
      And I couldn’t actually care less about what reviews it got, to say if it was good in other peoples eyes is not what I’m here for, I’m only here to share My thoughts and opinions and that is that this movie was not worth the price of admittance.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

