#Randomness 2015 – series #2

It’s that time again, folks, to drop some miscellaneous thoughts on some random subjects, and today I thought I’d start with something of a mixed bag….. and that’d be the Ghostbusters-reboot.
Ghostbusters banner

Personally, I am not at all aboard with that whole female-led idea that they’ve got going on. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think it’s a bad idea… it’s just that Ghostbusters is a personal fan-favorite of mine and where I’m kind of a stickler for tradition, I feel that if they’re not doing a Ghostbusters 3 with the original cast including the now late Great Harold Ramis (rest in Peace!!), they should just leave the franchise well enough alone. Instead of rebooting something we all loved at some point, come up with something new and original. Create something another generation can grow up with and love, like me and so many others like me have done with the Ghostbusters.

STyrese Green Lanternecondly, my Facebook-timeline has been bombarded with fan-art of Tyrese Gibson as the Green Lantern John Stewart, basically because Tyrese himself is lobbying for the part. This is not something I’m on board with At all!! Tyrese is a good enough action-guy, sure, with decent performances in the (godawfulTransformers franchise aswell as the ever growing Fast and Furious saga, but is he a good choice for John Stewart’s .Lantern? Definitely not! It’s like me saying that I want to play Arnold Schwarzenegger in a biopic of the Governator. Sure, I have some muscle and I’m not the worst actor in the world, but I could never in my life pull of a believable Arnold.
I have also seen some people comparing the negativity toward Tyrese’s crusade for the Lantern corp. to Heath Ledger’s casting as the Joker and to all of you saying that it can work, I just have to say this; The reason why Ledger‘s Joker worked out and Tyrese‘s Lantern won’t is just a matter of Heath Ledger being one of the greatest actors ever to have walked the earth, where Tyrese is a religious man first and an actor third, with his music towering over his acting chops like The Rock towering over his “bigass forehead”.

Ezra Miller FlashLet’s stay in the DC-universe for a bit and talk some more about the upcoming Ezra Miller-Flash. First off, I’m still a bit confused about why they’ve chosen to disregard the ongoing DC-universe (CW’s Arrow and The Flash). It feels like they’re taking chances with their characters that they don’t really need to take. Sure, alot of the DC-characters have turned up in different variations (Barry Allen, Wally West, Jay Garrick being just three of the different Flash’es) but are they so sure about their fan-base knowing all this? I mean, the titles are bound to attract some none-comic book readers as well, so I just think they’re unnecessarily going to confuse a lot of people with this decision. I still think that they should do something, as I mentioned earlier, in the way of Barry and some other (Kid) Flash teaming up, thus binding the TV- and the Movie-universes together, and at the same time eliminating a lot of confusion for the “non reading” fans.

Lastly, I just wanted to share with you one of the greatest things I heard coming out of a celebrity’s mouth in a long time, and that is the words of Stephen Fry when asked about God. Take a look;

That’s it for now, but I’ll be hitting the theaters again soon so many a thoughtful reviews is coming your way. Also, I promised you my thoughts on American Sniper as well. It’s coming, it’s just been a bit delayed. But, as a conclusion for today’s post, what do you think about all this? Is a Ghostbusters-reboot a good thing or should they leave the title well enough alone? How about Tyrese Gibson as John Stewart? Or do you have something completely different in mind about Ezra Miller and the Flash? Let me know down below…. and be sure to tune in for more readables, but until then….

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

