#RobotOverlords – A Tango’s Thoughts review

Every once in a while, there comes a movie that tries to take what we’ve already seen and give it a new, original twist. This is such a movie. Ladies and germs, I give you my thoughts on Robot Overlords.

Robot Overlords banner

When an alien robot species invades Earth, a war for our survival breaks out but the war only lasts for 11 days and the surviving humans are confined to stay indoors, with the threat of instant incineration if they go outside.Just like I said, something we’ve already seen with a “new” twist. Also, it’s set in in Great Britain rather than the United States as per usual. Apart from those small details, the film brings nothing new to the table, but was it at least a good watch? Let’s take a stroll down Tango lane to find out…

For starters, the protagonists of the film is a three teenagers and a little boy. I know it’s a movie and all, but to leave the fate of the world in the hands of a bunch of kids, it just seems wrong to me. But hey, if they’re trying to switch it up from the usual buff American soldier-dude hero by placing kids in its place…. well, they failed, ’cause we’ve all seen that too before. A lot even, so that brings the movie down a notch for me. Secondly, the CGI in this film feels better suited for a Xena-like tv-series rather than a wannabe blockbuster. It has its moments but for the most part, it looks absolutely ridiculous. Another notch down! Not looking so good for the Overlords so far.

One positive thing about it, however, that I feel I must mention and that is the performance of one actor in particular. Oh, did you think I was gonna praise Ben Kingsley? No no no, far from it! I’m not even sure why he’s even in the film, other than a fast paycheck. No, the one person I found did a great job in this film was the main protagonist, Callan McAuliffe. However bad everything surrounding his part was, he did a fantastic job with it and he brought a really believable performance as a teenager who mainly wants to find his father but ultimately, through a freak accident, winds up able to control the robots. He showed emotion when needed and to not look ridiculous when controlling something CGI, well that’s just brilliant. Kudos to Callan on this one!

To end this before I start to ramble, I leave you with these words; Robot Overlords, not even worth the price of admission and no stamp received. If you want to waste an hour and a half of your life, go watch it. If not, don’t!

This was a short review, yeah I know, but there’ll be more stuff coming your way soon enough, so just hang in there and I’ll be back before you know it. But, until then…..

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

