#Stargate – A Tango’s Thoughts quick-review

Everyone has their own theory of how and when the great pyramids of Giza was built but in 1994, a movie came out and with it, we got not only another theory, but also a reason for their creations. The movie I’m referring to is none other than the classic Sci/Fi hit Stargate.

Stargate banner

The idea of an alien race having been on Earth is nothing new at all, but when Stargate introduced us to the idea of the pyramids being a sort of docking-station for the aliens spaceships combined with a galactic portal across the galaxies, all bets are off. Add to that a story of enslavement of an entire race, some deep character arcs and a whole bunch of amazing special effects and you have yourself an instant hit. Of course, Kurt Russell and James Spader leading the charge with fantastic performances as Colonel Jack O’Neill and Dr. Daniel Jackson was just making the movie that much better!

The movie was intended to be the first in a trilogy but circumstances led to it spawning a series instead (SG-1) which in turn spawned several other series and comic books, creating an entire shared Stargate universe. There is also plans of a reboot to be based on the original trilogy-plans, which I am really excited for, because Stargate is not only a great film with Tango’s ‘Stamp of Approval’ attached, it was the one movie that got me really interested in Science Fiction altogether, which is saying pretty much about the geek I am today.

There you go, one Quick-review for you. Next up is something a little fresher off the box office, so be sure to tune in, but until then….

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

