#Tombstone – A Tango’s Thoughts quick-review

Having been in somewhat of a Kurt Russell-mode for some time now, I see it only fitting to give you some thoughts on another Kurt Russell movie, so without further ado I give to you my thoughts on Tombstone.

Tombstone banner

The story of the legendary peacekeeper Wyatt Earp has been told over and over again, but the one iteration that always stood proud (to me) was Tombstone, in which the glamorization of the Cochise County Cowboys stands as one of the main reasons for the legend that is Wyatt Earp. Apart from the main characters, the Earp brothers, historical characters such as William “Curly Bill” Brocius, Ike Clanton, John Henry “Doc” Holliday, Johnny Behan and Henry Hooker (to name a few) and the shootout at O.K Corral, I doubt there’s much accuracy to the events depicted in the film, but that’s nothing I’m at all concerned about, ’cause this film is a magnificent piece of cinematic history.

Tombstone posterKurt Russell, Sam Elliot and Bill Paxton does a magnificent job as the Earp brothers. Russell’s Wyatt Earp is belieavable, lovable and down to earth. Elliot’s Virgil is troubled and agonized as well as a believable older brother and Paxton does a magnificent job bringing a naive but honorable Morgan. The rest of the cast is one of the greatest ensemble of supporting cast ever to be put together. The film is  truly well acted all the way through, but the one person that really stands out in this film is none other than Val Kilmer’s “Doc” Holliday. Kilmer’s portrayal of the decease-ridden gambler with a penchant for booze and gun slinging is portrayed in such a way that anyone ever to portray the character in future iterations will undoubtedly be compared to it. Definitely one of the greatest performances of his career!

The brilliant writing of Kevin jarre (who was the original director as well) was magnificently translated to film by genius director George P. Cosmatos. The combined forces of the two stands proud today as one of the greatest Westerns ever made (yeah, that’s My opinion) and it will forever be the holder of the Tango’s ‘Platinum Stamp of Approval’!

There you go, chalk that one down to finished! As I promised you 4 reviews in a short time, this lack of an internet connection has led my reviewing to a delay, but instead of dropping some sloppy slackjawed reviews your way, I’ll give you some real thoughts on some newer films next week, but until then…

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

