#TequilaSunrise – A Tango’s Thoughts quick-review

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, I was gonna watch a specific movie, which I did, so the only logical thing right now would be to review it, right? Damn skippy it is, so without dragging it out any longer, here’s some quick thoughts on Tequila Sunrise.

Tequila Sunrise posterTequila Sunrise, a movie about Dale McKussic, (Mel Gibson) a drug dealer wanting to go straight and Nick Frescia (Kurt Russell), his oldest and best friend assigned the case to bring him and his “boss” to justice. An intriguing plot to say the least, but when you add Jo Ann Vallenari (Michelle Pfeiffer), the romantic interest of them both, into the mix, you have yourself a winner! The movie manages to keep me intrigued from start to finish, with interesting characters, an intriguing story and well-written dialogue and is a well mixed cup of equal amounts crime, drama and romance, as well as some comic reliefs mixed in here and there. Both Mel Gibson and Kurt Russell are bringing their A-games, bringing their characters to life like none other could’ve done at the time, but Michelle Pfeiffers performance leaves something to be desired. It wasn’t her worst performance ever but it was definitely no Dangerous Minds either, but that’s just nitpicking on my part. Gibson’s and Russell’s characters, alongside the great writing and directing from Robert Towne, is what keeps this movie a classic and another recipient of Tango’s ‘Stamp of Approval’.

There you go, folks, another one on my quickie-list. Now what am I supposed to do? Watch another movie perhaps? Well, I think that’s for the best. More good stuff coming your way soon, though, but until then…

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

5 responses to “#TequilaSunrise – A Tango’s Thoughts quick-review

  • Paul S

    Tequila Sunrise,has long been one of my favourites, and I never get tired of watching Pfeiffer’s femme fatale stoking up the rivalry between Mel Gibson’s dealer and Kurt Russell’s cop.
    Hey, what two guys wouldn’t fight over Michelle if given the chance?
    Although Tequila Sunrise may be considered a little cheesy by some people, it showcases a lot of what was good about 80’s cinema, especially in its cinematography which was well worthy of its Academy Award nomination.

Leave a Reply

