#AntMan – A Tango’s Thoughts quick review,

Marvel’s done it again, let me tall ya! I went to see the final installment of Marvel’s Phase 2, which would be Ant-Man (yes, it’s the final movie in Phase 2, not the first one in Phase 3!). While it’s not as astonishing as Avengers, it’s most definitely better than The Incredible Hulk. Here are some of my thoughts on Marvel’s smallest hero, Ant-Man.

Ant-Man banner

First off, I have to say that I am a bigger fan of Hank Pym’s version of Ant-Man in the comics, but the use of Scott Lang’s version in the MCU worked out just right. The two versions binds this film together with the rest of the MCU in a way that couldn’t have been done if they went straight forward with Pym’s Ant-Man as this story shows us Pym (as a digitally de-aged Michael Douglas) leaving S.H.I.E.L.D in the 80’s and provides the backstory for why Scott has to become the new Ant-Man. Brilliant writing there, I have to say!

As for the actor, well…. I was a bit worried when they announced Paul Rudd would helm the suit but my worries were trumped as soon as he came on screen. Amazing performance from Rudd, and it showed during the film that he had worked tirelessly in the gym to get his own super hero physique, so props to him!
Michael Douglas was brilliant, as always, but I kinda feel that it would’ve been really awesome to actually see him don the suit as well, but alas, no such luck. The chemistry between the two were great as well, and it gave their characters a push in the right direction.

As for Evangeline Lilly, well, there’s really not much one can say about her. Besides her being one of the most gorgeous women on the planet, her talents in front of the camera seems to know no bounds. She was brilliant in Lost, she was great in Real Steel and she was fantastic in The Hobbit, so there was no surprise to see her shine in Ant-Man as well. I can’t wait for her to don the Wasp-moniker (which we all know will happen sooner or later).

The writing behind this film was surprisingly good and the cinematography was brilliant. The effects were amazing and the acting was almost perfect, but there is one thing about this film that I didn’t quite like and that was Corey Stoll as Darren Cross/Yellowjacket. First of all, he was a bad clone of Obadiah Stane from the first Iron Man-film, but the way Stoll portrayed him was boring, stale, unoriginal and bland. The Yellowjacket-concept was great, though, and a magnificent villain to add to the roster, I just didn’t like the way Stoll brought him to life. Here’s hoping that he won’t be back in future installments!

So to conclude this quick-review……
With good writing, great effects, amazing cinematography and overall brilliant performances from most of the people involved, Marvel’s Ant-Man can proudly stand among its peers as it receives the Tango ‘Stamp of Approval’. That’s all I have for you on this right now, but rest assured, it will be a part of my Marvel- and MCU-centric webisodes down the line, but until then….

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

Leave a Reply

