#BatmanVSuperman – A Tango’s thoughts review

Whoa.. first off, let me just say that it has most certainly been a while. Sorry about that, but I just got stuck, all caught up in my creative writing. Working hard toward being recognized as a published writer alongside my reviewing of films. But on topic of films, let us just boot this one up in high gear and get the show on the road!
First up, on this second of winds, is Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.
Let’s see what Hank thought about that one…
BvS Banner

First of all, I simply must begin review by calling out one of my own, older, posts… that’s right, you called it. And as I stated back then, in Ben Affleck… As Batman?, the choice in casting was a solid choice and by the gods, was I right! Ben Affleck was, to put it the easiest of ways, Ben Affleck’s Batman was Awesome! Sorry, Keaton, but you’re only my #2 favorite Bats now, ’cause Ben’s moving on up to 1st!

Second. Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman? I was very skeptical at initial announcements here, are some of you may recall, but I’m not so skeptical anymore. Granted, Wonder Woman’s place in this film was not grande at all, so there’s really not enough ground to stand on in regards of an argument either with or opposed, but I’m definitely going to go with my gut on this one and call it. Gal Gadot is a good, if not even great, Wonder Woman.

Cavill is just as solid as Superman as he was his last go of it, so there’s really not much to say here, apart from one thing. Clark Kent, or Kal-El, or Superman or whatever you want to call him, he needs to get off his high horse a bit. Being a grande idol basically everyone looks up to is not due process to behave so selfishly when it comes to a woman. You’re supposed to be better than us, Superman. What happened?
Cavill Superman Gadot Wonder Woman Affleck Batman
As for the film itself, well… I didn’t hate it, and that’s a good thing, right? But I didn’t love it either, so….. nah, I’m calling it for what it is, a disappointment. Sure, it was great to see Batman and Superman duking it out there for a bit, but that’s about it. The fight scene between Johnson’s Hobbs and Diesel’s Toretto in Fast Five was on all accounts a more epic fight scene than this. The miniscule ammount of JLA member teasers was obismal and downright hypocritical given the title of the film and all. Also, there was either no red thread to tie the narratives together, or there was too many read threads to follow, given it a slurry, chopped off, messy finished product. The visuals were great, though. There was nothing wrong in that department, but Zack Snyder isn’t really known for substance or subplots or character building, but rather a visually perfect piece of cinema, and in that manner… I’d say he did it. The film was beautiful to look at. But, as it was for Man of Steel, so shall it be for Batman v Superman. The negatives overshot the positives by just a smidge. I’m going to stamp this with an ‘Approved’ garnish, but that is dependent on two things. One of which being, that whatever faults the movie had, it still had Batman and Superman in a brawl. And the other being, that even if it fell right in between ‘love it’ and ‘hate it’, it’ll still be a piece of my collection when it hits blu-ray.

But that’s all I got for you on this one, but hey… it sure is good to be back! I won’t be tackling Deadpool on here, mainly because I’m a huge DP fan myself, so I know what pressure it lies behind to do a product like that justice, so I’m not even going to attempt any such thing, for you or for myself. But hey, there’s other stuff coming so stay tuned…

About hanktango

This is not a serious movie review-blog. I do not review movies in a fashion that certified critics would. I think about stuff when I watch movies, and then write about those thoughts I had during the movie. I sometimes also think about other stuff related to movies, like castings, sequels and a whole bunch of other stuff. Sometimes, I even think about video games and then write about that. The only thing that's really specific to my writing, is that I write to you in the same way I would talk to you about all this stuff. So please, enjoy my writings, and if you were to get offended by anything, I would suggest you unravel that bunched up pantyhose you have stuck up your butt and stop being so sensitive, because honestly... that's Your problem, not anyone elses. Thank you! View all posts by hanktango

One response to “#BatmanVSuperman – A Tango’s thoughts review

Leave a Reply

